- +Zero installation — runs on any Kobalt 24V battery (2.0-12.0Ah)
- +Four graduated aluminum trumpets (14"/12"/8"/5") for a layered chord
- +Detailed spec disclosure: 14 x 6 x 12 in, 4 lb, 433 MHz remote, protection thresholds
- +15% battery cutoff, 185°F motor shut-off, and LED low-battery indicator
- +Three volume levels with instant, no-delay activation
- +1-year full warranty plus 90-day money-back returns
- −dB claim listed as 130, 140, and 150 dB on one page, with no test distance
- −Remote range (160 vs 300 ft) and runtime battery size (2Ah vs 6Ah) conflict
- −Battery and charger not included at the $250 base price
- −Quad is the only tier offered for Kobalt 24V batteries
- −Only two on-site reviews and no independent sound measurements
Methodology
This review aggregates publicly available information from manufacturer specifications, retailer listings, and verified user reviews. We do not perform hands-on testing. Last reviewed: October 23, 2026. Primary sources: BossHorn’s official product page for the Quad Train Horn for Kobalt® 24V Battery (including its public Shopify product data), BossHorn’s Kobalt-compatible collection page, and the Horngun retailer listing of the same unit for price and bundle cross-checks. Every number below traces to a URL in the Sources section.
Quick verdict
The BossHorn Quad Train Horn for Kobalt® 24V Battery is the only BossHorn model sold for the Kobalt® 24V battery platform, and it carries the same four-trumpet, no-install format as the brand’s 18V and 20V Quads: four powder-coated aluminum-alloy trumpets, a wireless remote, and a $250 entry price for Black ($270 for Chrome or Red). BossHorn publishes more hard data than most portable sellers, including dimensions, weight, runtime, remote frequency, and protection thresholds. We rate it 3.9/5, a notch below its Makita-compatible sibling, because this page contradicts itself more often: the loudness claim appears as 130 dB, 140 dB, and 150 dB in different sections, the remote range as 160 ft and 300 ft, and the 500+ blast runtime is tied to a 2Ah pack in one place and a 6Ah pack in another. In our editorial opinion it’s still the obvious pick if you already own Kobalt 24V packs, as long as you read the numbers as marketing rather than measurement.
What it is
The Quad is a fully assembled, handheld train horn that runs on any Kobalt® 24V battery from 2.0Ah to 12.0Ah, and BossHorn’s spec table says aftermarket 24V-compatible packs work too. Instead of the compressor, tank, and solenoid chain of a traditional air kit, an onboard electric motor drives four trumpets in graduated lengths: one 14”, one 12”, one 8”, and one 5”. BossHorn’s spec table describes the sound as a “freight train horn deep low tone,” while the trumpet selector on the same page labels the Quad “medium pitch.”

BossHorn says the unit ships pre-built as “a complete tool, not a kit”: insert a charged battery and press the trigger or the included wireless remote. The seller pitches it for tailgates, sporting events, boating, off-road trips, job-site shift signals, and wildlife deterrence. It is not marketed as a replacement for a vehicle’s wired horn.
Unlike the Milwaukee®, DeWalt®, and Makita® battery platforms, which BossHorn serves with Dual, Quad, and Extreme tiers, the Kobalt 24V collection lists the Quad alone. Buyers on this platform can’t step down to a cheaper Dual or up to the 150 dB-claimed Extreme Series without switching batteries. Our Makita, Bauer & Kobalt platform guide maps which tiers exist for each battery system.
In our editorial view it suits three kinds of buyers: homeowners and DIYers who already have Kobalt 24V packs from their other tools; truck, Jeep, and boat owners who want train-horn volume without drilling, wiring, or air lines; and event users who want a loud signal with zero setup.
Specifications
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Sound output | Up to 140 dB per spec table (test distance not disclosed); description says 130 dB; volume graphic tops out at 150 dB |
| Volume levels | 3 (full / medium / soft); BossHorn’s graphic labels them 150 / 130 / 110 dB |
| Sound character | ”Freight train horn deep low tone” per spec table; “medium pitch” per trumpet selector |
| Claimed audible range | Up to 1 mile |
| Trumpets | 4: 14” + 12” + 8” + 5” |
| Trumpet material | Aluminum alloy, powder-coated |
| Body | Impact-resistant polymer, splash-resistant (not waterproof) |
| Power source | Kobalt® 24V battery, 2.0–12.0Ah, or aftermarket 24V-compatible (not included) |
| Runtime | 500+ short / 200 sustained blasts on 6Ah per spec table; FAQ attributes the same figures to a 2Ah pack |
| Activation | Trigger or wireless remote, zero sound delay |
| Remote range | 160 ft per spec table and description; 300 ft per accessory picker and “How it works” section |
| Long-range remote | 2,000 ft, optional (+$59) |
| Remote frequency | 433 MHz encrypted, 23A 12V remote battery included |
| Protection | Overheat auto shut-off at 185°F; battery cutoff at 15%; LED low-battery indicator |
| Dimensions | 14” × 6” × 12” |
| Weight | 4 lb without battery |
| PSI | Not applicable (no air tank) |
| Chord frequencies | Not disclosed |
| Price | $250 (Black); $270 (Chrome or Red) at BossHorn |
| Warranty | 1-year full warranty on the horn unit; 90-day money-back returns |
All figures are manufacturer claims from BossHorn’s product page. BossHorn notes that actual output may vary with battery charge level.
What’s in the box
- 1× Quad train horn, fully assembled (four trumpets, motor, body)
- 1× Wireless remote control, with its battery pre-installed
- User manual for operation and maintenance
No Kobalt 24V battery or charger is included at the base price. BossHorn sells a 2Ah 24V-compatible battery (rated by BossHorn at 200+ blasts per charge) and a 24V-compatible fast charger as $30 add-ons each, extra standard remotes at $35, and a 2,000 ft long-range remote at $59. On Horngun, the same unit lists at $245 for Tool Only and $290 for Tool + Battery + Charger, both in Black. BossHorn also states that its warranty covers the horn unit only, not batteries or chargers.
Pros
- Zero installation: attach a charged Kobalt 24V battery and it’s ready, with no compressor, tank, air lines, or relay wiring
- Four graduated aluminum trumpets (14”/12”/8”/5”) for a layered chord rather than a single flat note
- Detailed spec disclosure for a portable unit: dimensions, 4 lb weight, runtime, remote frequency, and protection thresholds are all published
- Battery-side safeguards: 15% discharge cutoff, 185°F motor shut-off, and an LED low-battery indicator
- Three volume levels, including a soft setting BossHorn says is suitable indoors
- 1-year full warranty, 90-day money-back window, and free US shipping
Cons
- The loudness claim appears as 130 dB, 140 dB, and 150 dB on the same page, with no published test distance for any of them
- Remote range is listed as both 160 ft and 300 ft, and the runtime claim is tied to a 2Ah pack in one place and a 6Ah pack in another
- Battery and charger not included; Horngun’s battery-and-charger bundle runs $290 if you don’t already own Kobalt 24V packs
- Quad is the only tier sold for Kobalt 24V, so there’s no cheaper Dual or louder Extreme on this platform
- Thin user feedback: two on-site reviews at the time of review, and no independent sound measurements we could find
Alternatives
- BossHorn Ryobi-compatible Quad Train Horn (18V): the same quad concept for Ryobi® 18V battery owners. See our Ryobi-compatible Quad review.
- BossHorn Milwaukee-compatible Quad Train Horn (M18): the same four-trumpet format built around Milwaukee® M18™ batteries, at the same $250/$270 pricing. See our Milwaukee-compatible Quad review.
- Kleinn HK4 quad air horn kit: the permanently installed 12V air-tank route for truck owners who want the horn wired to the vehicle instead of carried. See our Kleinn HK4 review.
The BossHorn brand hub lists every BossHorn model we’ve covered, and the portable battery train horn guide compares the format across brands. If you’re deciding between battery and installed air, start with our air vs battery guide.
Install / compatibility notes
There’s no install in the traditional sense, which is the whole pitch. Things worth knowing before you buy:
- Battery platform: any Kobalt® 24V pack from 2.0Ah to 12.0Ah, and BossHorn says aftermarket 24V-compatible batteries work too. Because the page ties 500+ short blasts to a 6Ah pack in the spec table but to a 2Ah pack in the FAQ, plan around the more conservative reading: BossHorn’s own 2Ah add-on is rated at 200+ blasts.
- Voltage isn’t volume: a 24V pack does not make this louder than the 18V or 20V Quads. BossHorn’s spec tables list the same 140 dB maximum, trumpets, weight, and footprint across those platforms. Our platform comparison explains how voltage labels differ.
- No vehicle wiring: nothing connects to your vehicle’s 12V system. If you want a horn on the steering-wheel button, you need a wired air kit.
- Weather exposure: BossHorn rates the body splash-resistant, not waterproof, and recommends storing it in a cool, dry place with the battery removed to prevent accidental activation.
- Duty cycle: BossHorn advises short breaks during extended continuous use, and the motor cuts out at 185°F. A long blast that stops on its own is the protection doing its job.
- Remote planning: because the page lists both 160 ft and 300 ft, assume 160 ft where reliability matters, or budget $59 for the 2,000 ft remote. BossHorn says multiple remotes can be used at the same time.
- Hearing safety: BossHorn’s collection-page warning says exposure at or above 140 dB can cause immediate, irreversible hearing damage and calls for NRR 30+ hearing protection for the operator and bystanders within 100 feet. See our hearing damage guide and decibel guide.

On user feedback: at the time of review, BossHorn’s product page showed a 5.0 average across 2 on-site reviews, while a stats banner further down the same page showed 4.9 stars. Those are seller-hosted ratings from a very small sample, so we treat them as a light signal, not independent verification.
Legality is on the user. BossHorn’s FAQ says the horn is legal to own and use on private property in all 50 states and that road or vehicle use varies by state. A handheld horn avoids the equipment statutes that cover installed vehicle horns in many states, but blasting it in public can still fall under local noise ordinances. Check our state legality pages and city noise ordinance guide before using it in town. For how a quad chord compares with dual and single setups, see single vs dual vs quad trumpets, and for raw output comparisons, see our loudest train horn guide.
Sources
- BossHorn — Quad Train Horn for Kobalt® 24V Battery product page — all primary specs: 130 dB description vs 140 dB spec table vs 150 dB volume graphic, trumpet count/sizes/material, “medium pitch” label, 24V 2.0–12.0Ah compatibility, 500+/200 blast runtime (6Ah in spec table, 2Ah in FAQ), 160 ft vs 300 ft remote listings, 2,000 ft remote option, 433 MHz, 185°F and 15% protections, dimensions, 4 lb weight, body, $250/$270 pricing, add-on pricing, warranty, returns, shipping, included items, private-property legality FAQ, 5.0 (2 reviews) vs 4.9-star ratings
- BossHorn — Quad Train Horn for Kobalt® 24V Battery product data (JSON) — variant pricing cross-check ($250 Black, $270 Chrome, $270 Red), description, included items (horn, remote with pre-installed battery, user manual)
- BossHorn — Train Horns for Kobalt® 24V Battery collection — Quad as the only model for the platform, 140 dB and “medium pitch” labels, hearing-loss safety warning (140 dB threshold, NRR 30+, 100 ft bystander guidance)
- Horngun — Quad train horn gun listing for Kobalt® 24V battery — retailer price cross-check ($245 Tool Only, $290 Tool + Battery + Charger, Black), 130 dB description, 160 ft remote listing
- BossHorn — Quad Train Horn for Milwaukee® 18V Battery product page — Milwaukee-compatible Quad pricing ($250 Black / $270 Chrome or Red) used in Alternatives
- BossHorn — Quad Train Horn for DeWalt® 20V Battery product page — 20V Quad spec table (140 dB max, four trumpets, 4 lb, 14” x 6” x 12”) used in the voltage-vs-volume comparison
- BossHorn — full product catalog — Dual, Quad, and Extreme Series tiers sold for Milwaukee®, DeWalt®, and Makita® batteries vs Quad only for Kobalt® 24V
Train Horn Hub aggregates publicly available data. We do not test products in-house. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.
The default pick for anyone already invested in Kobalt 24V batteries who wants a grab-and-go quad-trumpet horn. Read its contradictory loudness and runtime figures as marketing, and look elsewhere if you need a horn wired to your truck.
Frequently asked questions
Quick answers to the questions people ask most about this topic.
- How loud is the BossHorn Quad Train Horn for Kobalt 24V Battery really?
- BossHorn's spec table rates it at up to 140 dB with a claimed audible range of up to 1 mile, but the product description says 130 dB and the volume-control graphic labels full power 150 dB. No test distance is published for any of those figures, so treat them as manufacturer claims, not measurements.
- Does it come with a Kobalt 24V battery or charger?
- No. The $250 base price covers the horn, one wireless remote, and a user manual. It runs on any Kobalt 24V battery from 2.0Ah to 12.0Ah, including aftermarket 24V-compatible packs; BossHorn sells a 2Ah battery and a charger as $30 add-ons each, and Horngun lists a Tool + Battery + Charger bundle at $290 (Black).
- How many blasts do you get per charge?
- BossHorn claims 500+ short blasts or about 200 sustained blasts, but its spec table ties that to a 6Ah battery while its FAQ ties it to a 2Ah battery. BossHorn's own 2Ah add-on is separately rated at 200+ blasts, which is the safer planning number for small packs.
- Is a 24V battery louder than the 18V or 20V versions?
- Not on paper. BossHorn's spec tables list the same 140 dB maximum, four trumpets, 4 lb weight, and 14 x 6 x 12 inch footprint for its 18V, 20V, and 24V Quads. The voltage tells you which battery fits, not how loud the horn is.
- What is the wireless remote range?
- The spec table and description list 160 ft for the included remote, while the accessory picker and setup section on the same page say 300 ft. Plan around 160 ft, or add the optional 2,000 ft long-range remote for $59.





